Anthony Marwood violin, Alison Baker piano, Jane Webster soprano, Pauline Dowse cello, Helen Knief viola
Gregory Bennett Walmsley cello, Nikos Zarb viola, Zoë Mather piano, Sarah Barnes cello, Siân Philipps violin
Rachel Barnes bassoon, James Scannell saxophone, Joseph Tong piano, Anthony Woollard cello,
Tammy Se violin, Clive Carroll guitar, Janey Miller oboe, Jane Stoneham marimba, Thomas Oxley bassoon
Benjamin Grosvenor piano, Victoria Goldsmith violin, Suzanne Thorn oboe, Sophie Biebuyck soprano
Timothy Wayne-Wright counter-tenor, Tamsin Thorn bassoon, Joanna Marie Skillett soprano,
Sarah-Jane Lewis mezzo-soprano, Matthew Lewis trombone, Matthew Paris double bass
Rebecca Leung piano,
William Knight clarinet, Elodie Chousmer-Howelles violin,
Rebecca Silverman soprano, Kayleigh McEvoy soprano

The competition is open to instrumentalists and singers aged 25 or under who were born, educated or currently reside in Essex.

John Lill, C.B.E., the distinguished Essex-born pianist and President of the Club has generously agreed to the Awards in his name being presented to the finalists in this annual competition.

The winner will receive £800 (the John Harrop Memorial Prize), the John Lill Awards trophy and the offer of an engagement with the Ongar Music Club.

The candidate in second place will be presented with a prize of £350 together with the Musgrave Cup.

Prizes of £250 and £175 will be presented to the candidates in third and fourth places respectively.

Two additional prizes will be awarded to the two most promising performers aged 18 or under on the 1st July 2018 – having not been awarded one of the above prizes in this year’s competition.

The Competition takes place at the Budworth Hall in Ongar over two Sundays at the end of June and the beginning of July each year.




The dates for the 2018 competition will be:

SUNDAY 24th JUNE at 2.00

Semifinal at 2.00
Final at 7.00

All stages of the competition take place in the Budworth Hall, High Street Ongar Essex CM5 9JG

Full details and an application form are printed in the Competition Brochure which will is now available.
This can be obtained either from the competition Administrator, Ms. Janet Pope, White House, Noon's Folly, Newmarket Road, Royston, Herts. SG8 7NG (Tel: 01763 248239) or by download from this site.

Click the image below to download a copy of the 2018 Brochure


Applications may now be made online by following the link below. This will enable you to provide all the necessary information about yourself and your performances. However, you will still need to send certain items to the Administrator by the closing date - 31st May 2018.
These are detailed on the entry form.

It is particularly important that you download the competition brochure and read thoroughly the competition requirements are well as the Conditions of Entry. Submitting your entry online will be your indication of acceptance of the requirements of the competition.