Founded in 1975 and based in the small market town of Ongar in Essex, Ongar Music Club promotes recitals of chamber and solo instrumental music.

In 1984, it founded the prestigious competition to find the Essex Young Musician of the Year under the generous patronage of John Lill.

Many famous artists have performed for the Club. These include Dame Eva Turner,

The High Street, Ongar with the Budworth Hall to the right
Sir Peter Pears, Stephen Kovacevich, Denis Matthews, Steven Isserlis, Richard Baker, Fritz Spiegl and The Fairer Sax, to name but a few.
The Club was also instrumental in the formation of Ongar Jazz Club. This diversity of activity has ensured the ongoing success of the Club.

Administering the Essex Young Musician of the Year Competition is now the prime focus for Ongar Music Club.

The Essex Young Musician of the Year Competition was established in 1984 through the enthusiasm of key members of Ongar Music Club. It aims to support and encourage young Essex musicians of talent and potential, who will enjoy competing and performing in a welcoming and pleasant environment. Past prize winners have gone on to enjoy successful professional careers.

John Lill CBE. the distinguished Essex-born pianist and Ongar Music Club president, has generously supported the competition and has consented to the awards being in his name.

The 2019 competition will be held on Sunday 7th July and full details will be announced on the Essex Young Musician of the Year page in January 2019 as well as on the Essex Young Musician of the Year Facebook page. This year's competition will be of a slightly revised format and will likely take place on just the 7th July.

A new series of lunctime concerts — followed by Afternoon Tea

For tickets please email:

Jamie Cochrane, Essex Young Muasician of the year 2018, gives his winner's recital.

Not to be missed!